Connect with us


Everything you need to know about the Ballon d’or award( most prestigious football award).



Ballon D'or award

Everything you need to know about the Ballon d’or award( most prestigious football award).

The prestigious football award, the Ballon d’Or, is an annual French award that is usually presented by the French football news magazine.

It was first presented in 1956, making it 65 years old. For the first time in football history, the French Ballon d’Or award was amalgamated with the FIFA World Player of the Year award to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or award in the mid-2000s.

However, this was only a temporary arrangement, as the cooperation between the two parties dissolved in 2016.

Originally, the French award was exclusively open only to European players, which helped them gain recognition early on as the European best Footballer award of the Year.

Due to its popularity, it evolved from an European footballer’s prize to a global award, recognizing players from all over the world. The award was open to all players. In the history of football, some few individuals have been able to break and create new outstanding records.

Here are some additional facts about the Ballon d’Or award that you should be aware of. 
1. Who has won the most Ballon d’Or awards in the history of football?
2. Who is the youngest winner of the Ballon d’Or?
3. Who won the Ballon d’Or in 2021? 

1. Who has won the most Ballon d’Or awards?

Lionel Messi (Lionel Andres Messi) was born on June 24, 1987, in Rosario, Argentina. is an Argentine midfielder who is often regarded as the best in the world.

The highest award winner in football history is the Argentine Superstar who has received the prestigious honour seven times. The years in which he received the award for best footballer of the year are listed below.

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi has won the most number of Ballon d’Or awards. (Getty Images)

He first won the award in 2009, when he was 22 years old, making him one of the youngest football players to do so. Starting in 2009, he earned the same prize every year from 2010 to 2012. In 2015, 2019, and 2021, respectively he received the honour for best player of the year as well.

2. Who is the youngest Ballon d’Or award winner?
Over the years in the history of football, some unique players have been able to carve out a share of greatness for themselves. Some even go ahead to make groundbreaking records as well.

Three of the youngest players to have won the Ballon d’Or award will be discussed here. Age is really nothing when it comes to achievements, some players managed to achieve great feats even in their early twenties.

1. At the age of 21, Ronaldo Nazario, a superb Brazilian player, became the youngest person to win the prestigious Ballon d’Or trophy. 

Ronald Nazario

Ronaldo Nazario (Getty Images)

2. In 2001, Michael Owen, at 22 years old, became the second-youngest player to win the Ballon d’Or award.

3. Lionel Messi is not only the highest-ranking Ballon d’Or winner but also one of the youngest to do so. When he initially won the award in 2009, he was 22 years old, making him one of the youngest Ballon d’Or winners ever.

Who won the 2021 Ballon d’Or award?
In as much as we all know that the Ballon d’Or award is a prestigious one, won only by few talented football players. It is usually held annually, just once in a year and for last year 2021, the ballon d’Or award winner was Lionel Messi ( Lionel Andres Messi) this indeed made his total number of Ballon d’Or wins 7 in number.

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi Celebrate after scoring for PSG in the UEFA Champions League. ( Photo Credit: Getty Images)

The first one In 2009, then back to back from 2010 till 2012, he also won it in 2015, 2019 respectively and then in 2021 last year. Overall he is the individual with the highest number of Ballon d’Or awards won, followed closely by the Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo who has won a total number of 5 Ballon d’Or award.

In other news, bTop ten highest-paid footballers in the World 2022