)
Connect with us

Premier League

Premier League explains why Penalty was not given in Chelsea vs Man United

Published

on

Chelsea v Manchester United

The Premier League has issued a statement on why Callum Hudson-Odoi’s handball was not given to Manchester United as a penalty during the clash with Chelsea on Sunday evening.

Both sides settled for a point each after a goalless draw, the two teams failed to create goal-scoring opportunities at Stamford Bridge.

Check out πŸ‘‰  Chelsea to benefit from very experienced Thiago Silva

Despite no goals being celebrated at Stamford Bridge, Man United were denied the opportunity to score after central referee Stuart Attwell failed to give Manchester United the penalty.

Marcus Rashford struck a free-kick from a long distance and was punched into play by Edouard Mendy, leaving Callum Hudson-Odoi and Mason Greenwood to challenge for the rebound.

In the process, Hudson-Odoi handled the ball but Stuart Attwell ignored him.Β  After a few seconds, the referee was called by the VAR to recheck the incident one more time on whether the initial call would be canceled or followed.

Chelsea vs Manchester United

Manchester United were denied a penalty after Hudson-Odoi was adjourned to have handled the ball in the box. ( Photo by Getty Images)

Also Read:Β Mikel Arteta lauds Arsenal players for comeback against Leicester City

Check out πŸ‘‰  Age is just a number" Thiago Silva speaks on his Chelsea career

After the review was completed, the center referee decided not to award the Reds their deserved penalty. The decision has since sparked lots of suggestions across social media, prompting the Premier League to issue a statement on why the decision was right.

The statement read “The VAR asked the referee to look at the incident again, but he stuck to his on-field decision as felt that Hudson-Odoi didn’t move his hand towards the ball.”

The Red Devils boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer claimed after the match that the call was one hundred percent a penalty.

“One hundred percent [it was a penalty],” Ole Gunnar Solskjaer told Sky Sports when asked about Hudson-Odoi’s handball.

Check out πŸ‘‰  Done deal: Chelsea having a busy summer as they complete the signing of Malang Sarr

β€œIt was a penalty, 100% nailed on. If that’s a natural position for a hand to be in when the ball comes in then I must be blind.”

.

Trending