Connect with us

Premier League

Liverpool Jordan Henderson beats De Bruyne to FWA player of the year



Jordan Henderson wins the FWA player of the year

ILiverpool captain Jordan Henderson won the Football Writers Association(FWA) of the year ahead of Manchester City Kevin De Bruyne.

Jordan Henderson has been awarded the Football Writers Association(FWA) player of the year for his outstanding performance in and off the field in the 2019/20 season campaign.

Check out πŸ‘‰  LiverpoolΒ set to finalise deal for Β£36m rated RB Leipzig star Ibrahima Konate

The England International was instrumental in Liverpool premier league triumph after 30 years of waiting.

Henderson beats off competition from Manchester City Kevin De Bruyne, Marcus Rashford, and Reds teammate Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

De Bruyne ending the season on high with 13 goals and 22Β  assists for Pep Guardiola side in all competitions this season.

Jordan Henderson, Virgil can Dijk and Sadio Mane

Jordan Henderson (left) Virgil van Dijk ( Center) and Sadio Mane ( Right) in were all nominated for the FWA award ( GettyImages)

The 30-year-old acknowledged the effort of the entire Liverpool team stating they made him better.

Speaking after he was declared the winner the Liverpool star said” I accept it on behalf of this whole squad, because without them I’m not in a position to be receiving this honour. These lads have made me a better player – a better leader and a better person.

Check out πŸ‘‰  Chelsea Issues Warning message to Manchester City and Pep Guardiola amid interest in star player

‘If anything I hope those who voted for me did so partly to recognize the entire team’s contribution.

‘Individual awards are nice and they are special and I will cherish this one. But an individual award without the collective achievement wouldn’t mean anywhere as much to me – if anything at all.’

The Football Writers Association player of the year list was dominated by the premier league champions players which included Henderson, De Bruyne, Rashford, Van Dijk Mane, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Alisson, Raheem Sterling, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Sergio Aguero, Adama Traore, Danny Ings, Jack Grealish, James Maddison, and Jonny Evans.

Check out πŸ‘‰  Paul Scholes Suggests Thiago more suited for Manchester United than Liverpool